Which ISACA Certification is Right for You? Sam William June 5, 2022
Which ISACA Certification is Right for You?
isaca certification

What is an isaca certification?

ISACA is a non-profit organization dedicated to improving IT governance around the world. ISACA certifications offer IT professionals with the knowledge and skills they need to lead in this ever-changing corporate environment.

COBIT 5 Foundation, Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC), Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT), and Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control for Executives are the five credentials offered by ISACA (CRISCx).

The COBIT 5 Foundation certification lays the groundwork for implementing COBIT 5 and conducting an enterprise-wide IT management evaluation. It can be combined with other certificates such as the CISM, CRISC, or CGEIT.

The CISM certification covers all aspects of information security management in a business, including policy formulation and execution, risk assessment and management, systems development life cycle processes, and compliance requirements like Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.

What are the benefits of an isaca certificate?

An ISACA certification has numerous advantages. ISACA certification is an internationally recognized standard for information security professionals, and it grants you the following benefits:

Validation of your knowledge and abilities. An ISACA certification confirms your information security knowledge and abilities, as well as your familiarity with contemporary technology, regulations, and procedures. Employers or clients that seek proven competence in security matters will be able to see your credentials.

Credibility and marketability have improved. Obtaining an ISACA certification gives you a competitive advantage in the job market since it demonstrates that you have invested in your professional growth through professional training and education. Candidates who are certified are also favored by employers and clients.

Some jobs require passing the test, but even if it isn’t, having a certified credential can allow you more flexibility when applying for jobs because many employers regard these certifications as confirming a candidate’s knowledge base and skillset.

Membership in one of our chapters or chapters throughout the world provides exclusive access to useful resources. Free continuing education programs, networking chances with other professionals, and access to unique items are just a few of the resources available.

isaca certification online

What are the requirements to obtain an isaca certification?

You must meet the following guidelines in terms to become certified:

1. You must be 18 years old or older.

2. You must be a member of ISACA or CISA, either active or retired.

3. You must have ISACA-recognized educational credentials and have earned an advanced degree in business administration, management, or accounting from an accredited college or university with a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 (B) or better on a 4.0 scale, or equivalent GPA from other grading scales, within two years of the date of application.

4. Within the five years preceding to applying for certification, you must have a minimum of three years of full-time experience in IT audit, risk assessment, and control processes; information security governance; enterprise IT strategy; enterprise architecture; or other similar domains (full-time equivalent may be counted if part-time work is documented).

5. In your chosen field, you must pass a proctored exam (e.g., CISA Certification Examination for Information Security Auditors).

students studying for isaca certification online

What are the benefits of obtaining an isaca certificate?

ISACA certification is an excellent approach to show employers and colleagues your knowledge, skills, and talents.

ISACA’s purpose is to advance the global development of information systems audit, control, and security professionals by promoting the highest standards of excellence, professionalism, and ethics in practice; advancing IT professional education in the fields of IS audit, control, and security; developing relevant global standards; providing thought leadership through publications, research, and conferences; and encouraging community service.

ISACA certificates are vendor agnostic, permitting you to demonstrate your knowledge regardless of the technology or company for which you work. If your organization doesn’t utilize Unix or Linux for its servers or desktop computers, but you work with those platforms on a regular basis, earning CompTIA UNIX+Linux certification will make you more appealing as an employee because it shows that you’ve had some exposure to those systems. Even better, many CompTIA certifications, such as Security+ (SY0-401), Network+ (N10-006), Server+ (SK0-004), and Linux+ (SK0-005), include this credential, so there’s no need to take any more courses or pay any extra money to earn it (LX0-104).

Write a comment
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *